ASHRAE’s Leaders

2017-2018 Board Members

Alexei Holstien

View LinkedIn Profile

John Farley

Incoming President Elect

Past ASHRAE positions have included Treasurer, Secretary and two years as Student Activities Chair. John Farley is a registered Professional Engineer in the state of Oregon, has a B.S.M.E. from University of Colorado Boulder, and M.S.M.E. from Portland State University. His work experience is in semiconductor manufacturing, facilities maintenance, energy efficiency, energy auditing, and mechanical HVAC design and commissioning. John is a senior project manager for System Design Consultants in Portland. “In my free time I enjoy spending time with my family and friends, getting to the coast and mountains when possible, playing golf and working on house projects. I like to stay active and have run one marathon (Portland) and competed in several triathlons.”

View LinkedIn Profile

Nicole Dunbar

View LinkedIn Profile

Marianna Vallejo

View LinkedIn Profile

Gary Heikkinen, PE

Grassroots Government Affairs Committee

Gary is the Chair of the Grassroots Government Affairs Committee. He has been a member of ASHRAE for over 30 years. He graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1976 with a BS in Mechanical Engineering and worked for Trane Co. in LaCrosse, WI as a Service Engineer for 7.5 years. Gary then moved to Oregon where he spent 6 years as a Service Sales Engineer and Project Manager for TraneOregon. He had multiple positions with Portland General Electric over almost 15 years in Account Management, New Business Development and as General Manager of affiliate company Portland Energy Solutions which developed a district cooling Plant at the Brewery Blocks development in the Pearl District. After a short stint with TAC Americas as a Project Executive managing Energy Savings Performance Contracts for institutional clients, he joined Carrier Corp as Branch Manager of the Oregon/SW Washington Commercial Service office. Gary has been with NW Natural since 2011, working as a Sr. Engineer. He works with architects, engineers, contractors and developers promoting the wise and efficient use of natural gas equipment in commercial, residential and institutional buildings. Gary is the Chair of the American Gas Association’s Building Energy Codes and Standards Committee and has recently been appointed to serve on Oregon’s Building Codes Structures Board.

View LinkedIn Profile

Brian Clemons

Electronic Communications Chair

Brian Clemons has served the Oregon ASHRAE Chapter on the Board of Governors 2016 through 2017, and also serves as the Electronic Communication Chair. Brian has a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from Oregon Tech and has been working in the HVAC controls industry since graduating college in 1993. Brian has been working at Environmental Controls Corp for the last 10 years as a Systems Engineer. Environmental Controls Corp. is an Alerton dealer that has been providing HVAC controls to Oregon and SW Washington since 1986. In his free time Brian enjoys racing cars. For the past 10 years he has focused on SCCA Solo Racing (Autocross), but has also competed is SCCA Club Racing, Chump Car Racing and was on the pit crew for the 25 Hours of Thunderhill.

View LinkedIn Profile

Megan Tosh

Student Activities and Electronic Communications Committees for Society

Megan Tosh is a Product Manager at Integrated Environmental Solutions, Ltd. (IES), where she has worked since 2013.  She began teaching Energy Efficiency in Buildings at the University of Portland as an Adjunct Instructor in 2018.  Megan is a professionally licensed engineer in the State of Florida, is an ASHRAE Certified Building Energy Modeling Professional, and a LEED Accredited Professional with a Building Design & Construction specialty. Megan’s current position at IES relocated her to Portland where she enjoys swimming competitively in many of Oregon’s beautiful lakes (and sometimes in pools too).

Megan earned her Bachelor and Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Central Florida (UCF) in Orlando.  Upon graduation, Megan began volunteering with the Central Florida Chapter of ASHRAE as Student Activities Chair and eventually served as Chapter President in Central Florida. Currently, Megan’s ASHRAE responsibilities include serving on the Student Activities and Electronic Communications Committees for Society.  She is a past chair of the YEA Committee and has served in regional positions in Region IV and Region XII, prior to moving to Oregon.

View LinkedIn Profile

Eileen Jensen, PE

Honors and Awards Chair

Eileen Jensen, P.E., is a mechanical engineer with the Bonneville Power Administration in Vancouver, WA.  She has held various chapter and regional positions within ASHRAE and has been an ASHRAE member for nearly 30 years.

View LinkedIn Profile

Committee Chairs

Student Activities Committee Chair
Geoff Jenks

Chapter Technology Transfer Committee Chair
John Farley

Mark Trader

Electronic Communication Chair
Brian Clemons

Young Engineers in ASHRAE (YEA) Chair
Jessie Bryan

Membership Promotion Chair
Ryan Pinckard

Grassroots Government Advocacy (GGAC) Chair
Gary Heikinnen

Research Promotion Chair
John Farley

Honors and Awards Chair
Eileen Jensen